The Sacraments are efficacious signs of grace, instituted by Christ and entrusted to the Church, by which divine life is dispensed to us. The visible rites by which the sacraments are celebrated signify and make present the graces proper to each sacrament. They bear fruit in those who receive them with the required dispositions.

The Catholic Church recognizes seven sacraments:

  • Baptism
  • Confirmation
  • Holy Eucharist
  • Penance
  • Anointing of the Sick
  • Matrimony
  • Holy Orders

The sacraments are divided into:

  • The sacraments of Christian initiation: Baptism, Confirmation, and Holy Eucharist
  • The sacraments of healing: Penance and Anointing of the Sick
  • The sacraments at the service of communion and mission: Holy Orders and Matrimony